top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureValan

Using My AirPods

Updated: Apr 2, 2019


In two ways I am fortunate with Apple's AirPods since my fingers are small and the shape of the AirPods are comfortable in my ears.

The shape is nearly identical to the wired headphones, that have always been secure within my ears.

They are held within the case with magnets and have a comforting "snap" sound as they are pulled into place by the magnets.


I do find that I get worried about losing them. A few days after getting them as a Christmas present I forgot that I was wearing them. When I realised, it was too late, and I had lost one of them. Thankfully it was found and ever since I have been aware of the AirPods in my ears.


Putting them into the case is a snap, literally. There is a tangible pull by the case on the earpieces, and they slot into place with a satisfying "snap". In the way, the lid closes with a similar sound.


However, removing them from the case requires an awkward pinch at the top of the curving back and the front of each earpiece. The squeeze feels too much, but a more suitable force makes my fingers slip off the smooth material. This design choice seems strange and opts for a system that is uncomfortable rather than finding a better solution. It will be interesting to see how and if the case design develops.


Facilities

The wired earpieces are passive and have control buttons on the chord which is plugged-in to the device. Both AirPod earpiece has sensors, and the wearer can double tap either to activate a predefined action. The actions are defined to allow the user to signal Siri, Play/Pause, Next Track, Previous Track or Off. Play/Pause and Off are not needed since these are also controlled by simply removing or placing the earpieces into the user's ears.


The thing that I missed the most by going wireless is the inability to skip forwards or backwards by a few seconds. I am not sure why this is no longer possible with the AirPods. Since they use two taps to activate Siri, I would think it is not such a big leap to use three presses. Also, the use of the two taps motion can be programmed to invoke one of several options. Only the option to skip within a PodCast is not in the available options.


Connecting to devices

Most times the AirPods connect quite easily. Put them in and press play. Within a second sound can be heard.

When the AirPods are in need to connect to other devices, there are several ways. A sense of relief happens when there is an "it just works" moment. Most times I need to instigate the connection process. I do this by pressing a button on the rear of the case or by changing the settings for sound output to the AirPods.

When I am working at the computer, listening to a Podcast on my iPhone and then I need to shift to listen to a video on the computer. Ideally, My AirPods should tell all my devices that the AirPods are in use. So if I push 'play' on any sound enabled medium it's sound comes through the AirPods.


Stay Connected.

Connection problems is a major complaint with wireless headphones. The AirPod has solved this issue as the connection is very stable at a distance or if there are walls between you and your device. I can happily leave my phone on the kitchen table and move anywhere inside or outside near the house.


Cleaning

Like playing with sand, ear wax gets everywhere, and the AirPods require regular cleaning to be kept clear of this material. I use a pea-sized amount of Bluetack. I mould it into a point and press the Bluetack into the earpiece, targetting any wax seen.

I use a cotton wool bud to clean the case of any wax or lint.


Conclusion

I feel my conclusion is rather biased by my gender or rather the clothing that my gender wears. Let me expand on and explain that comment. I tend to scream at my daughter for juggling with her iPhone. She'll drop her iPhone several times a week. She rests her iPhone on the edge of worktops or tables. All while wearing wired headphones. The simple remedy would be to put the iPhone into a pocket. Unfortunately, pants and trousers for women often have no, have fake or shallow pockets. In this regard, men's clothing is in a much better position as we can get our hands or multiple devices into our pockets.

So, my conclusion is mixed. On the one hand, being wireless facilitates a feeling of freedom. On the other hand, the current AirPods are missing some functions that I used hourly.






11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page